ANDERSON DAILY PHOTO

January 24, 2010

Tudor Arch

Another view of the above pic is here. This house is one of my favorites, and not just on Boulevard. I’ve admired it a long time and even have posted a pic of it in years past, but I didn’t know then that it is a Tudor Revival. (I like having lables for things. Makes my crazy life seem more orderly. 🙂 ) That amazing, lucious front-door arch? A “Tudor Arch.” I love how the brick, the wooden door, and frame all echo the shape. The two front (steeply arched) overlapping gables also cry “Tudor.” This is the first home I’ve noticed though with such intricate detailed brick work at the peak of each gable (and also at the base of the second gable). Lastly, notice the lonely dormer at the left? From what I understand, a dormer is a window in a sloping roof, an additional Tudor element. Just adorable. A picture of the entire house is here. Check out the “chimney pots” at the top of the chimney. Yes, another Tudor characteristic. 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

